In line with the governments latest guidelines we have closed The Gardener’s Kitchen Cafe, The Hall & The Chapel. We will keep you updated as guidelines change.
There has been a domestic chapel at Arley for many centuries. Before 1845 services had been held in the picturesque old building to the north of the house. In 1841 Rowland’s increasing interest in the Oxford Movement and his desire to have religious services regularly conducted in a more ceremonial style and a suitably elevating setting made him feel that he must have a Gothic chapel attached to his house.
He commissioned the London Architect, Anthony Salvin, recognised as one of the authorities on medieval buildings, to design it because he thought that Latham was principally a specialist in Elizabethan architecture. After long and detailed discussions the design of the pulpit, credence and bell tower the existing chapel was built.
The Salvin Chapel was consecrated in September 1845. In 1856-7 the north aisle and entrance porch were added to designs by George Street, another notable ecclesiologist.
The organ was made by Kirtland & Jardine of Manchester.
Services still take place in the chapel, dates will be listed soon.